Directory of ICMA-Recognized Local Governments for South Carolina

Go to Search


Local Government Population Form of Recognition Year of Recognition Chief Administrative Officer
Central Midlands Council of Governments G 1975 Ben Mauldin
City of Abbeville 5,237 C 1979 Mr. Richard Stone, MPA
City of Aiken 29,524 C 1955 Mr. Stuart Bedenbaugh, MPA
City of Anderson 26,686 C 1964 Mr. David McCuen
City of Beaufort 12,361 C 1915 Mr. William Prokop, IPMA-CP
City of Belton 4,134 G 1985 Ms. Laurie Kennedy
City of Bennettsville 9,069 G 1975 Mr. Max Alderman
City of Camden 6,838 C 1948 Mr. Jonathan Rorie, MPA
City of Cayce 12,528 C 1959 Ms. Tracy Hegler, AICP
City of Chester 5,607 C 1945 Sandi Worthy
City of Clemson 13,905 G 1977 Mr. David Blondeau
City of Clinton 8,490 C 1973
City of Columbia 129,272 C 1950 Ms. Teresa Wilson
City of Conway 17,103 C 1984 Mr. Adam Emrick
City of Darlington 6,289 G 1974 Mr. Howard Garland
City of Dillon 6,788 C 1972 Mrs. Janet Bethea
City of Florence 37,056 C 1921 Mr. Andrew Griffin
City of Folly Beach 2,617 C 1975 Mrs. Marlene Estridge
City of Forest Acres 10,361 C 1973 Mr. Shaun Greenwood, AICP, ICMA-CM
City of Gaffney 12,414 G 1976 Mr. James Taylor
City of Georgetown 9,163 G 1978 Dr. Sandra Yudice
City of Goose Creek 35,938 G 1979 Ms. Natalie Zeigler, ICMA-CM
City of Greenville 58,409 C 1951 Mr. John McDonough
City of Greenwood 23,222 C 1939 Julia Wilkie, MPA
City of Greer 25,515 G 1975 Mr. Andrew Merriman
City of Hanahan 17,997 G 1977 Ms. Kim Peters
City of Hardeeville 2,952 C 1992 Mr. Michael Czymbor, ICMA-CM, MPA, BS
City of Hartsville 7,764 C 1973 Mr. Daniel Moore, MPA
City of Isle of Palms 4,133 G 1997 Ms. Desiree Fragoso
City of Lake City 6,675 C 1979 Mr. Marion Lowder
City of Lancaster 8,526 G 1977 Mr. Steven Hutfles
City of Manning 4,108 C 1980 Mr. Scott Tanner, MBA, ICMA-CM, BA
City of Mauldin 22,889 G 1975 Mr. Brandon Madden, MPA
City of Myrtle Beach 27,109 C 1962 Mr. Jonathan Simons
City of Newberry 10,277 C 1949 Mr. Matthew DeWitt, MPA
City of North Augusta 21,348 C 1975 Mr. James Clifford
City of North Myrtle Beach 13,752 C 1976 Mr. Michael Mahaney
City of Orangeburg 13,964 C 1955 Mr. Sidney Evering, Esq.
City of Rock Hill 66,154 C 1915 Mr. David Vehaun
City of Simpsonville 18,238 G 1988 Ms. Dianna Gracely
City of Spartanburg 37,013 C 1947 Mr. Christopher Story
City of Sumter 40,524 C 1912 Howie Owens, MBA
City of Union 8,393 G 1993 Ms. Gloria Rogers
City of Walterboro 5,398 C 1974 Mr. Jeffrey Molinari
City of West Columbia 14,988 C 1994 Mr. Brian Carter
City of Woodruff 4,090 C 1986 Mr. Keith Duncan
City of York 7,736 C 1965 Mr. Seth Duncan, MPA
County of Aiken 160,099 G 1973 Mr. J. Killian, MPA
County of Anderson 187,126 C 1984 Mr. Rusty Burns
County of Bamberg 15,987 G 1977 Ms. Rose Shepherd
County of Beaufort 162,233 C 1977 Mr. Robert Bechtold
County of Charleston 350,209 C 1949 Ms. Jennifer Miller
County of Colleton 38,892 C 2002 Mr. James Griffin, AICP
County of Dorchester 136,555 C 1977 Mr. Jason Ward, MPA
County of Fairfield 23,956 C 2002 Mr. Davis Anderson
County of Florence 136,885 C 2008 Mr. Connie Haselden
County of Greenville 451,225 G 1974 Mr. Joseph Kernell
County of Greenwood 69,661 G 1972 Mr. Toby Chappell
County of Horry 269,291 C 1987 Steven Gosnell
County of Jasper 24,777 C 2005 Mr. Andrew Fulghum, ICMA-CM
County of Lancaster 76,652 C 1976 Mr. Dennis Marstall
County of Lexington 262,391 G 1973 Mr. Joe Mergo
County of Lexington 262,391 G 1973 Mr. Joe Mergo
County of Lexington 262,391 G 1973 Mr. Joe Mergo
County of Lexington 262,391 G 1973 Mr. Joe Mergo
County of Marion 33,062 C 1990 Mr. Gene Harper, ICMA-CM
County of McCormick 10,233 C 1998 Ms. Columbus Stephens
County of Orangeburg 92,501 C 1981 Mr. Harold Young
County of Richland 384,504 C 1973 Mr. Leonardo Brown, MBA, CPM
County of Spartanburg 284,307 G 1983 Ms. Katherine O'Neil
County of York 226,073 C 1977 Mr. David Hudspeth
Lower Savannah Council of Governments G 1981 William Molnar
Town of Batesburg-Leesville 5,362 C 1994 Mr. William Luckadoo, MPA
Town of Bishopville 3,471 G 1987 Mr. William McCutchen
Town of Bluffton 12,530 C 2011 Mr. Stephen Steese, MPA
Town of Cheraw 5,851 G 1982 Mr. Michael Smith
Town of Hemingway 459 G 1978 Mr. Joseph Lee
Town of Hilton Head Island 37,099 C 1983 Mr. Marc Orlando, ICMA-CM
Town of Kershaw 1,803 G 1978 Rick Walters
Town of Kingstree 3,328 G 1971 Mr. Richard Treme
Town of Pageland 2,760 G 1988 Mr. Robert Kimrey
Town of Port Royal 10,678 G 1977 Mr. Milton Willis
Town of Ridgeland 4,036 G 1977 Mr. Dennis Averkin, MSM
Town of Springdale 2,636 C 1988 Mrs. Ashley Watkins
Town of Surfside Beach 3,837 G 1982 Mr. William Shanahan, MPA
Town of Winnsboro 3,550 C 1955 Mr. Don Wood
Upper Savannah Council of Governments G 1978 Ms. Patricia Hartung
Population based on 2011 Census.
C = Council Manager Position    G = General Management Position
Chief Administrative Officers with linked names are ICMA members

The information in this directory is a trade secret owned exclusively by ICMA. This directory is for use by ICMA constituents for the sole purpose of facilitating communication in normal professional pursuits and in activities related to ICMA. The directory may not be used for marketing to, selling to, or surveying these constituents, nor may it be used to generate external e-mail distribution lists.