Directory of ICMA-Recognized Local Governments for Massachusetts

Go to Search


Local Government Population Form of Recognition Year of Recognition Chief Administrative Officer
City of Cambridge 105,162 C 1942 Mr. Louis DePasquale
City of Chelsea 35,177 C 1995 Mr. Thomas Ambrosino
City of Franklin 31,635 G 1980 Mr. Jeffrey Nutting
City of Lowell 106,519 C 1944 Eileen Donoghue
City of Medford 56,173 C 1950 Mr. Edward Finn
City of Methuen 47,255 C 1972 Ms. Tina Touma Conway
City of Worcester 181,045 C 1999 Mr. Edward Augustus
County of Barnstable 215,888 G 1995 Justyna Marczak
Merrimack Valley Planning Commission G 1982 Mr. Dennis DiZoglio
Town of Acton 21,924 C 1984 Mr. John Mangiaratti
Town of Adams 8,485 G 1984 Mrs. Mary Beverly
Town of Agawam 28,438 C 1974 Mr. Richard Theroux
Town of Amherst 37,819 C 1954 Mr. Paul Bockelman
Town of Andover 33,201 C 1959 Mr. Andrew Flanagan
Town of Arlington 42,844 C 1953 Mr. Sanford Pooler, JD, MPA, CFO
Town of Ashburnham 6,081 C 1988 Mrs. Linda Ramsdell
Town of Ashland 16,593 C 1994 Mr. Michael Herbert
Town of Barnstable 45,193 C 1990 Mr. Mark Ells
Town of Bedford 13,320 G 1974 Ms. Doreen Tremblay
Town of Belmont 24,729 C 1988 Ms. Patrice Garvin
Town of Billerica 40,243 G 1980 Olivia Canario
Town of Blackstone 9,026 C 1973 Ms. Dori Vecchio, MPA
Town of Brookline 58,732 G 1969 Mr. Melvin Kleckner
Town of Burlington 24,498 C 1988 Mr. Paul Sagarino Jr.
Town of Canton 21,561 G 1989 Mr. Charles Aspinwall, MPA
Town of Chatham 6,125 G 1990 Ms. Jill Rubin-Goldsmith, ICMA-CM
Town of Chelmsford 33,802 C 1992 Ms. Elizabeth Delaney
Town of Concord 17,668 C 1956 Ms. Kerry Lafleur
Town of Danvers 26,493 C 1950 Mr. Stephen Bartha, MPA, ICMA-CM
Town of Dartmouth 34,032 G 1980 Mr. Shawn MacInnes, PE, MBA, MCPPO
Town of Dennis 14,207 G 1977 Elizabeth Sullivan
Town of Dracut 29,457 C 1986 Mrs. Ann Vandal
Town of Duxbury 15,059 C 1994 Mr. Rene Read
Town of Easthampton 16,053 C 1987 Ms. Barbara LaBombard
Town of Easton 23,112 C 1973 Mr. Connor Read
Town of Framingham 68,318 G 1969 Mr. James Duane
Town of Grafton 17,765 C 1990 Mr. Evan Brassard, MPA
Town of Greenfield 17,456 G 1985 Ms. Maureen Winsick
Town of Groton 10,646 G 1989 Mr. Mark Haddad
Town of Hadley 5,250 G 1991 Mr. David Nixon
Town of Hanover 13,879 G 1981 Mr. Joseph Colangelo
Town of Harvard 6,520 G 1992 Timothy Bragan
Town of Hingham 22,157 G 1994 Mr. Tom Mayo
Town of Holden 17,346 C 1952 Ms. Jacquelyn Kelly
Town of Hudson 19,063 G 1973 Mr. Thomas Moses
Town of Ipswich 13,175 C 1967 Ms. Pamela Carakatsane
Town of Kingston 12,629 C 1995 Mr. Keith Hickey, ICMA-CM
Town of Lexington 31,394 C 1987 Mr. James Malloy, ICMA-CM
Town of Lincoln Center 6,362 G 1980 Mr. Timothy Higgins
Town of Longmeadow 15,784 G 1991 Ms. Lyn Simmons
Town of Lynnfield 11,596 G 1982 Mr. Robert Dolan
Town of Manchester-by-the-Sea 5,136 G 1993 Mr. Gregory Federspiel
Town of Mansfield 23,184 C 1921 Mr. Scott Leite
Town of Marshfield 25,132 G 2008 Mr. Michael Maresco, AIA
Town of Mashpee 14,006 G 2000 Rodney Collins
Town of Medfield 12,024 C 1971 Kristine Trierweiler
Town of Medway 12,752 G 2000 Mr. Michael Boynton
Town of Middleborough 23,116 C 1921 Mr. Robert Nunes
Town of Middleton 8,987 G 1981 Mr. Andrew Sheehan
Town of Millville 3,190 G 1994 Mrs. Helen Coffin
Town of Milton 27,003 G 1970 Mr. James Mullen
Town of Natick 33,006 G 1982 Melissa Malone
Town of Needham 28,886 G 1979 Ms. Kate Fitzpatrick, ICMA-CM
Town of North Andover 28,352 G 1986 Mrs. Melissa Rodrigues
Town of North Reading 14,892 G 1973 Mr. Michael Gilleberto
Town of Northborough 14,155 C 1971 Mr. John Coderre
Town of Northbridge 15,707 C 1993 Mr. Adam Gaudette
Town of Norton 19,031 C 1996 Mr. Michael Yunits
Town of Norwell 10,506 C 1976 Mr. Peter Morin, BA, JD
Town of Norwood 28,602 C 1915 Mr. Tony Mazzucco, ICMA-CM
Town of Orleans 5,890 G 1989 Mr. John Kelly, MPA
Town of Oxford 13,709 C 1972 Jennifer Callahan
Town of Plymouth 56,468 G 1979 Mr. Derek Brindisi, MPA
Town of Provincetown 2,942 C 1954 Mr. Alex Morse
Town of Reading 24,747 G 1987 Mr. Robert LeLacheur
Town of Rowley 5,856 G 1996 Ms. Deborah Eagan
Town of Salisbury 8,283 C 1993 Mr. Neil Harrington
Town of Saugus 26,628 C 1948 Mr. Scott Crabtree
Town of Scituate 18,133 C 1972 Mr. James Boudreau
Town of Seekonk 13,722 G 1983 Mr. Shawn Cadime
Town of Sharon 17,612 G 1969 Mr. Frederic Turkington
Town of Sheffield 3,257 G 1992 Rhonda LaBombard
Town of Shrewsbury 35,608 C 1954 Mr. Kevin Mizikar
Town of South Hadley 17,514 G 2006 Mr. Michael Sullivan
Town of Southbridge 16,719 C 1974 Mr. Michael McCall, Esq.
Town of Southwick 9,502 G 1994 Mr. Karl Stinehart
Town of Spencer 11,688 C 2000 Mr. Jeffrey Bridges
Town of Stoneham 21,437 C 1981 Mr. John Hanright
Town of Stoughton 26,962 C 1922 Ms. Robin Muksian, Ph.D.
Town of Sturbridge 9,268 G 1989 Ms. Lynne Girouard
Town of Sudbury 17,659 G 1973 Ms. Maryanne Bilodeau
Town of Sutton 8,963 C 1993 Mr. James Smith, ICMA-CM
Town of Tewksbury 28,961 C 1988 Mr. Richard Montuori
Town of Truro 2,003 C 1993 Mr. Darrin Tangeman, ICMA-CM, MPA
Town of Walpole 24,070 C 1973 Mr. Patrick Shield
Town of Wareham 21,822 C 1980 Mr. Derek Sullivan, MPA
Town of Watertown 31,915 C 1981 Mr. Michael Driscoll
Town of Wayland 12,994 G 1973 Mr. Stephen Crane, MBA, MPA
Town of Wellfleet 2,750 G 1989 Mr. John Chatham
Town of West Boylston 7,669 C 1996 Ms. Kim Hopewell
Town of Westborough 18,272 G 2010 Ms. Kristi Williams
Town of Westford 21,951 C 1991 Ms. Jodi Ross
Town of Wilbraham 14,219 G 1989 Mr. Nick Breault
Town of Williamstown 7,754 C 1957 Mr. Jason Hoch
Town of Wilmington 22,325 C 1951 Mr. Jeffrey Hull, MCPPO, MPA
Town of Winchendon 10,300 G 1990 Mr. Justin Sultzbach, MS
Town of Winchester 21,374 C 1976 Lisa Wong
Town of Wrentham 10,955 G 1975 Mr. Kevin Sweet, MPA, MS, ICMA-CM
Town of Yarmouth 23,793 G 1978 Mr. Robert Whritenour
Population based on 2011 Census.
C = Council Manager Position    G = General Management Position
Chief Administrative Officers with linked names are ICMA members

The information in this directory is a trade secret owned exclusively by ICMA. This directory is for use by ICMA constituents for the sole purpose of facilitating communication in normal professional pursuits and in activities related to ICMA. The directory may not be used for marketing to, selling to, or surveying these constituents, nor may it be used to generate external e-mail distribution lists.