Directory of ICMA-Recognized Local Governments for Kansas

Go to Search


Local Government Population Form of Recognition Year of Recognition Chief Administrative Officer
City of Abilene 6,844 C 1939 Ron Marsh
City of Arkansas City 12,415 C 1931 Mr. Randy Frazer, CPM
City of Atchison 11,021 C 1921 Amy Finch, MPA, MMC
City of Augusta 9,274 C 1951 Mr. Joshua Shaw, CPM, ICMA-CM
City of Baldwin City 4,515 G 2007 Dr. Glenn Rodden, Ph.D., MPA
City of Belleville 1,991 C 1921 Mr. Russ Piroutek
City of Beloit 3,835 G 1982 Ms. Kerry Benson
City of Bonner Springs 7,314 C 1970 Mr. Sean Pederson, ICMA-CM
City of Caney 2,203 G 1996 Mr. Fred Gress
City of Chanute 9,119 C 1951 Mr. Todd Newman
City of Cheney 2,094 G 1977 Mrs. Danielle Young, MMC, MPA
City of Clearwater 2,481 G 1977 Ms. Courtney Zollinger, CMC
City of Coffeyville 10,295 C 1963 Ms. Stephanie Richardson
City of Colby 5,387 C 1947 Mr. Tyson McGreer
City of Concordia 5,395 C 1949 Mrs. Amy Lange, MPA
City of Council Grove 2,182 G 1989 Danny Matthews
City of Derby 22,158 G 1982 Mr. Kiel Mangus
City of Dodge City 27,340 C 1970 Mr. Nickolaus Hernandez, ICMA-CM
City of El Dorado 13,021 C 1917 Mr. David Dillner, ICMA-CM
City of Elkhart 2,205 G 2003 Tim Hardy
City of Ellinwood 2,131 G 1976 Mr. Chris Komarek
City of Ellsworth 3,120 G 1998 Ms. Margaret Shepherd
City of Emporia 24,916 C 1947 Mr. John Cocking, MPA
City of Fort Scott 8,087 C 1975 Mr. Jeremy Frazier, MPA
City of Fredonia 2,482 G 2006 Ms. Carolyn Anderson
City of Frontenac 3,437 C 1999 Mr. Douglas Sellars
City of Garden City 26,658 C 1949 Mr. Matt Allen
City of Gardner 19,123 G 1986 Mr. James Pruetting, MS, MSM
City of Garnett 3,415 C 1964 Mr. Christopher Weiner, CPM
City of Goddard 4,344 G 1977 Mr. Brian Silcott, ICMA-CM
City of Goodland 4,489 C 1984 Mr. Kent Brown
City of Great Bend 15,995 G 1978 Mr. Kendal Francis, CPM
City of Halstead 2,085 G 2001 Mr. Ethan Reimer, MPA, CMC, CPM
City of Hays 20,510 C 1919 Mr. Toby Dougherty
City of Haysville 10,826 G 1982 Mr. Will Black
City of Herington 2,526 C 1973 Mr. Branden Dross, MPA
City of Hesston 3,709 G 1970 Mr. Gary Emry
City of Hiawatha 3,172 G 1989 Michael Nichols
City of Hoisington 2,706 C 1924 Mr. Jonathan Mitchell, MPA, ICMA-CM
City of Holton 3,329 C 1948 Mr. Kerwin McKee
City of Horton 1,776 G 1985 Ms. Kim Clausen
City of Hutchinson 42,080 C 1947 Mr. Jeffery Cantrell, MPA, ICMA-CM
City of Independence 9,483 C 1945 Mrs. Kelly Passauer, CPM
City of Iola 5,704 C 1995 Mr. Matthew Rehder, MPA, ICMA-CM
City of Junction City 23,353 C 1947 Mr. Allen Dinkel
City of Kechi 1,909 G 2007 Ms. Laura Hill
City of Kinsley 1,457 C 1922 Mr. Jay Dill
City of La Crosse 1,342 C 1925 Mr. Duane Moeder
City of Lansing 11,265 G 1986 Mr. Timothy Vandall, MPA
City of Larned 4,054 C 1948 Mr. Bradley Eilts, MPA
City of Lawrence 87,643 C 1951 Mr. Craig Owens
City of Leavenworth 35,251 C 1969 Mr. Paul Kramer, MPA
City of Leawood 31,867 G 1980 Mr. Scott Lambers
City of Lenexa 48,190 G 1985 Ms. Rebecca Yocham
City of Liberal 20,525 C 1946 Mr. Russell Varnado, MPA
City of Lindsborg 3,458 G 1983 Ms. Kristi Northcutt, MA
City of Maize 3,420 G 1977 Mr. Richard LaMunyon
City of Manhattan 52,281 C 1951 Mr. Ron Fehr
City of Marysville 3,294 G 1986 Mr. William St. John, MPA
City of Mc Cracken 190 C 1919
City of McPherson 13,155 G 2006 Mr. Nicholas Gregory, MPA, ICMA-CM
City of Merriam 11,003 G 1978 Mr. Christopher Engel, MPA
City of Mission 9,323 G 2010 Mrs. Laura Smith, MPA
City of Mission Hills 3,498 G 1982 Ms. Jennifer Lee
City of Mulvane 6,111 G 1981 Mr. Kent Hixson
City of Neodesha 2,486 G 1988 Mr. Eddy Truelove, MPA
City of Newton 19,132 C 1927 Mrs. Kelly McElroy, CPM, MPA
City of Norton 2,928 G 1986 James Moreau, PE
City of Oakley 2,045 G 2003 Ms. Rose Wessel
City of Olathe 125,872 C 1963 Mr. Michael Wilkes
City of Osage City 2,943 G 1998 Mr. Rodney Willis
City of Osawatomie 4,447 C 1964 Mr. Michael Scanlon, ICMA-CM
City of Oswego 1,829 G 1989 Mrs. Alice Hornung
City of Ottawa 12,649 C 1971 Mr. Richard Nienstedt, CEO
City of Overland Park 173,372 C 1964 Ms. Kate Gunja
City of Paola 5,602 C 1962 Randi Shannon
City of Park City 7,297 G 1984 Mr. Sean Fox
City of Parsons 10,500 C 1953 Ms. Deborah Lamb
City of Pittsburg 20,233 C 1949 Mr. Daron Hall
City of Prairie Village 21,447 G 1976 Ms. Nickie Lee
City of Pratt 6,835 C 1973 Roy Eckert
City of Roeland Park 6,731 G 2012 Mr. Keith Moody
City of Rose Hill 3,931 G 1999 Ms. Kathy Dinkel
City of Russell 4,506 C 1948 Mr. Jon Quinday, CPM
City of Sabetha 2,571 G 1984 Mr. Douglas Allen
City of Salina 47,707 C 1921 Mr. Michael Schrage, ICMA-CM
City of Shawnee 62,209 C 1976 Mr. Nolan Sunderman
City of Spring Hill 5,437 G 1994 Ms. Beverly Hayden
City of St. Marys 2,627 C 1921 Mr. Jerry Eichem
City of Sterling 2,328 C 1925 Mr. Craig Crossette, MPA
City of Stockton 1,329 C 1921 Ms. Keith Schlaegel
City of Tonganoxie 4,996 C 1995 Mr. George Brajkovic
City of Topeka 127,473 C 2004 Ms. Brenda Younger
City of Ulysses 6,161 G 1974 Mr. Alan Olson
City of Valley Center 6,822 G 1985 Mr. Brent Clark
City of Wamego 4,372 C 1953 Ms. Stacie Eichem, MBA
City of Wellington 8,172 C 1968 Mr. Shane Shields
City of Westwood 1,506 G 1986 Ms. Leslie Herring, MPA
City of Wichita 382,368 C 1917 Mr. Robert Layton
City of Winfield 12,301 C 1921 Mr. Taggart Wall, MPA
County of Barton 27,674 G 1986 Mr. Phillip Hathcock, BS
County of Butler 65,880 C 2005 Mr. William Johnson
County of Douglas 110,826 G 1990 Mrs. Jill Jolicoeur, MPA
County of Ellis 28,452 G 2017 Mr. Robert Schlyer
County of Finney 36,776 G 2008 Ms. Elsa Ulrich
County of Ford 33,848 G 2004
County of Harper 6,034 C 2009 Ms. Sherry Houston
County of Johnson 544,179 C 1984 Mrs. Penny Postoak Ferguson
County of McPherson 29,180 G 2006
County of Miami 32,787 C 1994 Mr. Shane Krull
County of Reno 64,511 C 2020 Mr. Randall Partington, ICMA-CM
County of Saline 55,606 G 2020 Mr. Phillip Smith-Hanes, ICMA-CM
County of Sedgwick 498,365 G 1981 Mr. Tom Stolz
North Central Regional Planning Commission G 1979 Mr. Doug McKinney
Unified Government of Wyandotte County-Kansas City 145,786 C 1983 Mr. Alan Howze, MBA
Population based on 2011 Census.
C = Council Manager Position    G = General Management Position
Chief Administrative Officers with linked names are ICMA members

The information in this directory is a trade secret owned exclusively by ICMA. This directory is for use by ICMA constituents for the sole purpose of facilitating communication in normal professional pursuits and in activities related to ICMA. The directory may not be used for marketing to, selling to, or surveying these constituents, nor may it be used to generate external e-mail distribution lists.