Directory of ICMA-Recognized Local Governments for Iowa

Go to Search


Local Government Population Form of Recognition Year of Recognition Chief Administrative Officer
City of Algona 5,560 G 1987 Mr. Jacob Tjaden
City of Alton 1,216 G 1995 Mr. Dale Oltmans
City of Altoona 14,541 G 1997 Mr. Randy Pierce
City of Ames 58,965 C 1920 Mr. Steven Schainker
City of Anamosa 5,533 C 2000 Ms. Bonnie Post
City of Ankeny 45,582 C 1975 Mr. David Jones
City of Atlantic 7,112 C 1992 Mr. John Lund, MPA
City of Bancroft 732 G 1995
City of Belmond 2,376 C 1980 Ms. Lee Waltzing
City of Bettendorf 33,217 C 1996 Mr. Decker Ploehn
City of Boone 12,661 C 1997 Mr. Luke Nelson
City of Buffalo 1,270 C 1978 Mr. Terry Adams
City of Burlington 25,663 C 1985 Mr. Chad Bird, MPA
City of Carroll 10,103 C 1979 Mr. Michel Pogge-Weaver, AICP, ICMA-CM
City of Cascade 2,159 G 1995 Ms. Deanna McCusker
City of Cedar Rapids 126,326 C 2007 Mr. Jeffrey Pomeranz
City of Chariton 4,321 C 1966 Mrs. Christy Metzger
City of Charles City 7,652 C 1996 Mr. Steven Diers
City of Cherokee 5,253 G 1977 Mr. Steve Schuck
City of Clarinda 5,572 C 1913 Mr. Gary McClarnon
City of Clarion 2,850 C 1979 Mr. Steve Henigar
City of Clinton 26,885 C 1985 Mr. Matt Brooke
City of Clive 15,447 G 1977 Mr. Matthew McQuillen, MPA
City of Coralville 18,907 G 1989 Mr. Kelly Hayworth
City of Council Bluffs 62,230 C 1950 Ms. Olga Ramirez
City of Davenport 99,685 G 1977 Ms. Corrin Spiegel, ICMA-CM
City of De Witt 5,322 G 1991 Mr. Steven Lindner, ICMA-CM, MPA
City of Denison 8,298 G 2001 Ms. Terry Crawford
City of Des Moines 203,433 C 1950 Mr. Scott Sanders
City of Dubuque 57,637 C 1920 Mr. Michael Van Milligen
City of Eagle Grove 3,583 C 1997 Mr. Michael Boyd, MSM
City of Eldora 2,732 C 1993 Mr. Eric Weinkoetz
City of Eldridge 5,651 G 1984 Ms. Lisa Kotter
City of Emmetsburg 3,904 G 1978 Mrs. Jill Kliegl
City of Fort Madison 11,051 C 1981 Mr. David Varley
City of Garner 3,129 G 2000 Mr. Thomas Kozisek
City of Glidden 1,146 G 1997 Ms. Suzanne Danner
City of Graettinger 844 G 1986 Ms. Sandra Henderson
City of Grinnell 9,218 C 1955 Mr. Russell Behrens, ICMA-CM
City of Guttenberg 1,919 C 1956 DENISE SCHNEIDER, BS, MMC
City of Harlan 5,106 G 1997 Ms. Debra Sawyer
City of Hiawatha 7,024 C 1996 Ms. Kimberly Downs, MBA
City of Humboldt 4,690 C 1994 Mr. Cole Bockelmann, MPA
City of Ida Grove 2,142 G 1980 Ms. Edie Ball
City of Indianola 14,782 C 1980 Mr. Benjamin Reeves, ICMA-CM
City of Iowa City 67,862 C 1951 Mr. Geoff Fruin
City of Iowa Falls 5,238 C 1914 Mr. Jody Anderson
City of Jefferson 4,345 G 1986 Mr. Michael Palmer
City of Johnston 17,278 G 1976 Mr. James Sanders, MPA
City of Kalona 2,363 C 1997 Mr. Ryan Schlabaugh
City of Knoxville 7,313 C 1975 Ms. Heather Ussery, MPA
City of Le Claire 3,765 C 1980 Mr. Dennis Bockenstedt, MBA
City of Le Mars 9,826 C 1981 Mr. Jason Vacura
City of Lisbon 2,152 G 1997 Connie Meier
City of Manchester 5,179 C 1997 Mr. Timothy Vick
City of Maquoketa 6,141 C 1920 Mrs. Diane Frandsen
City of Marion 34,768 C 1963 Mr. Ryan Waller, MPA
City of Marshalltown 27,552 C 1992 Ms. Jessica Kinser
City of Mason City 28,079 C 1995 Mr. Aaron Burnett, ICMA-CM, MPA
City of Mitchellville 2,254 C 1996 Ms. Tammi Dillavou
City of Mount Pleasant 8,668 G 1991 Mr. Brent Schleisman
City of Mount Vernon 4,506 G 1990 Mr. Chris Nosbisch, ICMA-CM
City of Muscatine 22,886 C 1968 Ms. Carol Webb, MPA
City of Nevada 6,798 C 1994 Mr. Jordan Cook, MS
City of Newton 15,254 C 1983 Mr. Matthew Muckler
City of Nora Springs 1,431 C 1993 Ms. Deborah Gaul
City of North Liberty 13,374 C 1995 Mr. Ryan Heiar
City of Oelwein 6,415 C 1979 Mr. Dylan Mulfinger, MPA
City of Osceola 4,929 C 1986 Mr. Ty Wheeler, MPA
City of Oskaloosa 11,463 C 1977 Ms. Amy Miller
City of Ottumwa 25,023 G 1989 Mr. Philip Rath
City of Pella 10,352 G 1989 Mr. Mike Nardini
City of Pocahontas 1,789 G 1985 Mr. Eric List
City of Polk City 3,418 G 2006 Ms. Chelsea Huisman
City of Red Oak 5,742 G 1979 Mr. Brad Wright
City of Reinbeck 1,664 G 2000 Ms. Janet Slessor
City of Rock Rapids 2,549 G 1971 Mr. Jordan Kordahl
City of Rock Valley 3,354 G 1977 Mr. Tom Van Maanen
City of Sac City 2,220 G 1997 Mr. Jamie Lawrence, MPA
City of Sanborn 1,404 G 1979 Mr. James Zeutenhorst
City of Sheldon 5,188 C 1973 Mr. Sam Kooiker, MPA
City of Shenandoah 5,150 C 1946 Mr. James Davey
City of Sibley 2,798 C 1979 Ms. Kristen Vipond
City of Sioux Center 7,048 C 1966 Mr. Scott Wynja
City of Sioux City 82,684 C 1953 Mr. Robert Padmore
City of Spencer 11,233 G 1988 Mr. Dan Gifford, AICP, MPA, ICMA-CM
City of Spirit Lake 4,840 C 1973 Mr. Gregg Owens
City of Storm Lake 10,600 C 1982 Ms. Keri Navratil, MPA
City of Story City 3,431 G 1975 Mr. Mark Jackson
City of Strawberry Point 1,279 C 1997 Mrs. Elizabeth Jaster
City of Urbandale 39,463 C 1965 Mr. AJ Johnson, MPA
City of Van Meter 1,016 G 2017 Ms. Sarah Ames, MPA
City of Waverly 9,874 C 1978 Mr. James Bronner
City of Webster City 8,070 C 1915 Mr. Daniel Ortiz-Hernandez, MPA
City of West Bend 785 G 1989 Ms. Lisa Sewell
City of West Burlington 2,968 C 1994 Mr. Greggory Mandsager, ICMA-CM, BA, JD
City of West Des Moines 56,609 C 1964 Mr. Thomas Hadden, MBA
City of West Liberty 3,736 C 1920 Mr. David Haugland, MPA
City of West Point 966 G 1978 Mr. Gary Menke
City of Wilton 2,802 G 1980 Mr. Jeffrey Horne
City of Windsor Heights 4,860 G 1979 Mr. Dennis Durham
County of Scott 165,224 G 1981 Mr. Mahesh Sharma, ICMA-CM, MPA, MS, PE
County of Woodbury 102,172 G 1989 Bernie Ketelsen
East Central Intergovernmental Association G 1983 Ms. Kelley Deutmeyer
Midas Council of Governments G 1978 Mr. Clifford Weldon
Siouxland Interstate Metropolitan Planning Council (SIMPCO) G 1969 Victoria Halloran
Southern Iowa Economic Developement Association G 1977
Population based on 2011 Census.
C = Council Manager Position    G = General Management Position
Chief Administrative Officers with linked names are ICMA members

The information in this directory is a trade secret owned exclusively by ICMA. This directory is for use by ICMA constituents for the sole purpose of facilitating communication in normal professional pursuits and in activities related to ICMA. The directory may not be used for marketing to, selling to, or surveying these constituents, nor may it be used to generate external e-mail distribution lists.