Directory of ICMA-Recognized Local Governments for Alaska

Go to Search


Local Government Population Form of Recognition Year of Recognition Chief Administrative Officer
Borough of Bristol Bay 997 C 1971 Mr. John Fulton
Borough of Fairbanks North Star 97,581 G 1977 Mr. Jim Williams, MBA, ICMA-CM
Borough of Haines 2,508 G 1990 Ms. Debra Schnabel, MPA
Borough of Ketchikan Gateway 13,477 C 1974 Mr. Ruben Duran
Borough of Matanuska Susitna 88,995 C 1972 Mr. Michael Brown
City & Borough of Juneau 31,275 G 1990 Mr. Duncan Watt, PE
City and Borough of Sitka 8,881 G 1972 Mr. John Leach
City and Borough of Wrangell 2,369 C 1969 Mr. Jeffrey Good, PE, PMP, CFM
City and Borough of Yakutat 808 C 1988 Ms. Catherine Bremner
City of Barrow 4,212 C 1981 Ms. Gwen Edwardson
City of Bethel 6,080 C 1977 Ms. Lori Strickler, CMC
City of Cordova 2,239 C 1953 Ms. Helen Howarth
City of Dillingham 2,329 C 1970 Mr. Mark Lynch, MPA
City of Fort Yukon 583 C 1979 Mr. David Richards
City of Galena 470 C 1981 Shanda Huntington
City of Homer 5,003 C 1966 Mr. Robert Dumouchel, MS, IPMA-CP
City of Kenai 7,100 C 1965 Mr. Paul Ostrander
City of Ketchikan 8,050 C 1948 Mr. Karl Amylon
City of Kodiak 6,130 C 1953 Mr. Mike Tvenge
City of Kotzebue 3,201 C 1973 Mr. Derek Martin
City of Mountain Village 813 G 1983 Ms. Melanie Dela Rosa
City of Nome 3,598 C 1965 Mr. Glenn Steckman
City of Palmer 5,937 C 1962 Mr. John Moosey
City of Petersburg 2,948 C 1960 Mr. Dale Stone
City of Seldovia 255 C 1967 Ms. Rachel Friedlander
City of Seward 2,693 C 1953 Mrs. Janette Bower, ICMA-CM
City of Soldotna 4,163 C 1987 Ms. Stephanie Queen, AICP
City of St. Mary's 507 C 1980 Ms. Geraldine Sparks
City of Unalaska 4,376 G 1985 Mrs. Michelle Price, BA
City of Valdez 3,976 C 1964 Mr. Mark Detter
City of Whittier 220 C 1991 Mr. James Hunt
Kodiak Island Borough 13,592 G 1983 Roxanne Murphy, MPA
Municipality of Anchorage 291,826 G 1976 Ms. Barbara Gruenstein
Municipality of Skagway Borough 968 G 1978 Leola Mauldin
Population based on 2011 Census.
C = Council Manager Position    G = General Management Position
Chief Administrative Officers with linked names are ICMA members

The information in this directory is a trade secret owned exclusively by ICMA. This directory is for use by ICMA constituents for the sole purpose of facilitating communication in normal professional pursuits and in activities related to ICMA. The directory may not be used for marketing to, selling to, or surveying these constituents, nor may it be used to generate external e-mail distribution lists.